Kaskaskia College Board of Trustees reviews annual audit; approves new hires

May 21, 2024

Centralia, Ill. - The Kaskaskia College Board of Trustees held its monthly meeting on Monday, May 20, 2024, at the Nashville Education Center. Attendees included Bill Hawley (Odin), Linda Stover (Centralia), Louis Kalert (Centralia), Craig Finke (Nashville), Bryan Holthaus (Carlyle), and Connor Wademan (Student Trustee). Laura Wedekemper (Shattuc) and Jim Beasley (Centralia) were absent.

Representatives from CliftonLarsonAllen, Chris Sula, and Timothy Richter presented the annual financial audit findings, which awarded the college a clean report and indicated good financial standing.

The board addressed several issues:

  • Suspension of Educational Programs at Centralia Correctional Center: The board approved notifying KC employees at the Centralia Correctional Center about the potential suspension of educational programs effective August 1 unless a new contract is approved. Negotiations are ongoing with the Illinois Department of Corrections and the college administration. KC President George Evans expressed confidence in reaching a solution but emphasized the necessity of planning for extended negotiations due to financial constraints.
  • Tennis Court Repairs: The board approved a $51,554 bid from Courts and Cracks of Effingham, IL, to repair the six tennis courts on the main campus, constructed in 2009.
  • Purchase of Automotive Scissor Alignment Lift: The board approved the purchase of an automotive scissor alignment lift from Mohawk/Hunter Engineering Company of Amsterdam, NY, for $47,374.19. This purchase is fully funded by the ICCB Rev Up EV Community College Grant and replaces a 24-year-old lift.

Personnel decisions included:

New Hires:

  • Tara Kellermann as Financial Aid Advisor
  • Janelle Lyons as Buildings and Ground Technician
  • Dean Meredith as Buildings and Ground Technician
  • Nathan Young as Assistant Professor of Theatre/Communication (effective August 12, 2024)

Faculty Promotions:

  • First-year faculty for second-year probationary employment:
  • Arts and Sciences: Cody Paul
  • Nursing/Health Sciences: Katy Knolhoff, Mary Beth Suedmeyer
  • Second-year faculty for third-year probationary employment:
  • Arts and Sciences: Josie Spihlmann
  • Third-year faculty for tenured employment:
  • Arts and Sciences: Lesley Brower, Tim Wight
  • Nursing/Health Sciences: Kaylee Hilmes, Amy Woltering
Random Photo of a Pretty Building

We can help you take the first step